Peijun Xu - viola

date: since 9.2014 place: World In progress

Peijun Xu, born in Shanghai, is widely recognised as among the foremost violists of her generation. She is the recipient of several international awards. In 2012 she was awarded the first prize and audience prize at the International Max Rostal Competition, Berlin. In 2010 she won first prize as well as two special prizes at the International Yuri Bashmet Viola Competition in Moscow, and in 2006 she was awarded second prize in the Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition.

As soloist Peijun Xu has performed at prestigious venues such as the Shanghai Concert Hall, Hamburg Laeiszhalle and Frankfurt Alte Oper. She has appeared with Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Symfonieorkest Vlaanderen, Moscow Soloists, State Symphony Orchestra 'New Russia', Baden-Baden Philharmonie and Wurttemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn, under conductors such as Muhai Tang, Yuri Bashmet, Pavel Baleff and Ralf Gothóni. Peijun Xu's chamber music partners have included Paul Rivinius, Marina Chiche, Niklas Schmidt, Evgenia Rubinova, Boris Garlitsky, Alexander Sitkovetsky and Stéphan Picard. 

Peijun Xu studied at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts with Prof. Roland Glassl, the Kronberg Academy with Prof. Nobuko Imai and the Berlin University of Music 'Hanns Eisler' with Prof. Tabea Zimmermann.

From 2011-2015, Peijun Xu was teaching at Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts. Since 2015 she has a teaching position at the Musikhochscule Detmold in Germany.

More information on:

She is a brilliant musician and flawless player – [this is the] pure joy of mature viola playing. There is nothing to add. Excellent musician!

Peijun Xu’s understanding of how to sketch out the poetic intonation of Walton [Concerto] was exemplary. She virtually merged into one unit with her instrument. [...] In Bruch's Romance for Viola and Orchestra, Xu floated into the enchanting melody. Apparent ease and yet also sincere devotion characterized her playing.
Badisches Tageblatt

Xu’s playing was as expressive as it was precise and a brilliant, vigorous finale were not without effect.
Frankfurter Neue Presse