Zooming: Estonia / Polska

date: 11.04.2015 place: Tallinn, Estonia executed

The contemporary music of Estonia seems to be very distinguished on the one hand and very varied and difficult to clear-cut characterizing on the other. It sounds the lyricism, nostalgia and, in the artistic activity of the younger generation the newest, expended instrumental techniques, resulting in an interesting connection of tradition and modernity. This music is very varied, if we look at the musical work of individual composers and their musical language, style and technique. Maybe it isn’t worth suspecting some special national features in the contemporary music of this country and the most identified distinguishing feature is, that it is simply Estonian. The goal of the Zooming: Estonia project realized by SONORA and Sepia Ensemble is presentation to the listeners, in the some fragment of course, the most interesting phenomena, names and works in the Estonian contemporary music. There were selected to the program the compositions which define the identity of this music as Estonian clear enough and at the same time portray the new aspects of the sound in which Sepia Ensemble specializes. The aim of the project is also the presentation of the works of the Estonian composers in the cross-sectional way of the generations – from the well known and world-wide names to the staying at the beginning of the artistic way, the youngest generation.

Artur Kroschel – artistic director of the Sepia Ensemble


Maria Kõrvits - Piano Quartet (2008)
Andrus Kallastu - Tropus De profundis for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and cello (2013)
Age Veeroos - new piece for flute, trombone, two violins, cello, double bass, piano and percussion - first performance, commission of the Estonian Music Days
Tõnu Kõrvits - Thule Patterns for string quartet (2007)
Mari Vihmand - Gib uns lange Lachen im kurzen Sommer (Give Us a Long Laugh in a Short Summer) for flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano and phonogram (2005)

Ewa Fabiańska-Jelińska - Miniatures sonoristiques for solo trombone (2011)
Witold Lutosławski - Grave. Metamorphoses for cello and piano (1981)
Michał Ossowski - Trio for violin, cello and piano (2014) – first performance
Rafał Zapała - Scherzo for 6 instruments (2014)
Artur Kroschel - Fracture for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, percussion and piano (2006/07)
Kazimierz Serocki - Swinging music for clarinet, trombone, double bass and piano (1970)